Home | About

State Funding / Technical Resources State Funding / Technical Resources
Mississippi Interstate Cooperative Resource Association

MICRA is an organization of 28 state natural resource departments organized in 1991 as a partnership to improve management of interjurisdictional fish and other aquatic resources in the Mississippi River Basin.  The Mississippi River Basin is the fourth largest watershed in the world, and the largest watershed in the nation, draining all or part of 31 states and 2 Canadian provinces. The watershed measures approximately 1.2 million square miles, and covers 41% of the continental United States. The Mississippi River and its tributaries comprise one of the largest and most valuable ecosystems in the world.

The MICRA states have identified more than 90 interjurisdictional rivers within the Mississippi River Basin. Interjurisdictional fisheries and other aquatic resources of the Mississippi River Basin are cooperatively managed by regional partnerships developed around multiple sub-basins. These partnerships work together through MICRA to achieve cooperative management of aquatic resources throughout the Mississippi River Basin.
MICRA's Mission  
MICRA's Mission is to improve the conservation, management, development and utilization of interjurisdictional fishery resources (both recreational and commercial) in the Mississippi River Basin through improved coordination and communication among the responsible management entities.

Contact Information Contact Information
Mississippi Interstate Cooperative Resource Association
9053 Route 148
Marion, IL  62959
Phone: 618-997-6869
Cell Phone: 618-889-9600
Fax: 618-997-9185
weblink Visit Website

Service Area
Statewide Program in:
  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Georgia
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

To request additions or corrections to this entry email the Administrator

Select a County