Home | About

State Funding / Technical Resources State Funding / Technical Resources
Prairie Grouse Partners

In the spring of 2009, the North American Grouse Partnership joined with Pheasants Forever, Quail Forever, the Theodore Roosevelt Conservation Partnership, and the Mule Deer Foundation to launch the Prairie Grouse Partners, a new conservation partnership with an aggressive goal of restoring 20 percent of North America's native grasslands. This effort would result in 60 million acres of improved habitat for a wide range of wildlife, including three species of prairie grouse and pheasants.

Only 10 percent of North America's 585 million acres of native grasslands remain today, and its associated wildlife species are in a state of rapid decline. The conservation work of the Prairie Grouse Partners will be guided by the Grassland Conservation Plan for Prairie Grouse, a landscape-scale, ecologically based plan developed in cooperation with state natural resource agencies and adopted by the Association of Fish & Wildlife Agencies. The plan is centered on three major grouse species (sharp-tailed grouse, greater prairie chicken and lesser prairie chicken), considered primary indicators of healthy grassland ecosystems.

Delivering the Grassland Plan to the Ground

The Prairie Grouse Partners target three focus areas:

  • grant funding for grassland habitat projects
  • legislative engagement in grassland conservation programs
  • media advocacy for grasslands, prairie grouse, and associated wildlife


Contact Information Contact Information
Prairie Grouse Partners
Ralph Rogers
Executive Director of the North American Grouse Partnership
10630 N. 135th Street
Waverly, NE  68462
Phone: 402-786-5547
Fax: 402-786-5547

weblink Visit Website

Service Area
Statewide service provider in:
  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • DC
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Dakota
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

To request additions or corrections to this entry email the Administrator

Select a County